Scots aim for victory at Players Championship

By Tom Mackinnon

Robert Thornton, John Henderson, Peter Wright and Gary Anderson all throw their first darts of the tournament today, with the first ties starting at 1245.

Peter Wright will be hoping to better his performance of semi-finalist this year at the Butlins Minehead Resort in Somerset.

Last year’s champion Michael Van Gerwen will be hope to retain his crown, in what would be the third year in succession the Dutchman will have won the tournament.

The last winner previously to Van Gerwen, was Anderson, who will be looking to get his hands on the £75,000 prize pot once again.

World number 27 Robert Thornton has the hardest first round tie of all the Scots, with the Ayrshireman facing James Richardson, world number 55.

One notable absentee is three-time winner Phil ‘The Power’ Taylor, who failed to qualify for the tournament. Qualification is based upon the 22 Players Championship events this season, meaning the world number seven misses out on this weekend’s action.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s